The Guardians


The College of Guardians was formed in 1931. It comprises twenty priests and laity (including the Priest Administrator) who are the legal trustees of the Shrine. The Guardians elect one of their number (who must be a priest) to serve as Master. The Guardians meet twice a year in Chapter (chaired by the Master) to oversee the affairs of the Shrine. Each Guardian is assigned a stall and an altar in the Shrine Church. When attending the Shrine Church or the National Pilgrimage each Guardian wears the insignia of a star suspended from black and white ribbon and a blue velvet mantle.

In addition to the full Guardians there are those who are retired from office (Guardians Emeritus) and those who live overseas or were thanked for their support of the Shrine (Honorary Guardians).

In addition, a small group of Guardians act as directors of The Walsingham College Trust Association Ltd., the registered charity which is responsible for all aspects of the Shrine's day to day work.


The Rt Revd Dr Martin Warner 1993 The Revd Howard Stoker● 2011
Mr John Downing● 1993 The Revd Brian Bell 2012
The Revd Dr Jeremy Sheehy 1997 Mr Andrew Roberts● 2012
Mr Richard Mantle= 1998 Ms Amanda McIntyre● 2015
The Rt Revd Philip North*● 2000 The Revd Philip Barnes 2016
Mr John Booth● 2001 Miss Mary Thorne 2019
The Revd Kevin Smith‡ 2002 The Rt Revd William Hazlewood 2019
Mrs Ruth Ward+ 2003 Mr Kit Read 2019
The Rt Revd Jonathan Baker● 2006 The Revd Mark McIntyre CMP 2020
The Revd Graeme Rowlands†● 2009 Dr Sonia Dore 2021
Guardians Emerit(i/ae) Honorary Guardians
The Rt Revd Lord Hope of Thornes 1978 The Rt Revd Keith Ackerman 1996
Major Patrick King 1991 The Rt Revd Alan Chesters 1999
Mrs Barbara Marlow 1997 The Rt Revd Graham James 2005
The Rt Revd Lindsay Urwin OGS 2006
Dr Brian Hanson 1984
Baroness (Margaret) Eaton 2014  
The Revd John Gribben CR 1993
Betty Jarrett 2003
The Rt Revd Tony Robinson                              2009


* MasterRegistrar Priest Administrator
Director WCTA Ltd = Treasurer
+ Company Secretary